Category Archives: Uncategorized

Backwaters Press at AWP ’15

Stop by in Minneapolis and say hi to the Backwaters Press at AWP ’15. We’ll be at table 1824.

Also posted in News & Information, Readings | Comments closed

Zeina Hashem Beck at Dubai launch of To Live in Autumn

Zeina Hashem Beck reading from her Backwaters Prize-winning collection, To Live in Autumn, at the Dubai launch of her book.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

Elbe reviewed by Prairie Schooner

Susan Elbe’s 2012 Backwaters Prize winning collection, The Map of What Happened, has been reviewed in Prairie Schooner by James Crews. “Elbe’s lyrical lines strip the moments of her remembered life down to their most essential truths. In ‘Childhood,’ she captures the dizzying ache and tension of wanting to grow up fast, wanting to be shaken out of […]

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

Omaha Gives! Event

We have exciting news! This year The Backwaters Press is participating in the Omaha Gives! Program. On Wednesday, May 21st, you will have 24 hours to support your favorite nonprofits by making a donation of $10 or more. We hope that you will support the BWP with its mission to publish literature of value and […]

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

The Untidy Season — Call for artists

The Untidy Season: An Anthology of Nebraska Woman Poets, seeks cover art that celebrates and subverts what it means to be a Nebraskan woman writing and living in the 21st century. We are not looking for images that reinforce the stereotype of what it means to live in the Midwest (cornfields and old barns, etc.) Please surprise and […]

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

Rattlesnake Daddy Recognized with Saroyan Prize Nomination

Stanford University has shortlisted Brent Spencer’s Rattlesnake Daddy for the 2012 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing in the Non-Fiction category. The  Saroyan Prize, given for current writing, commemorates the life William Saroyan and is intended, “to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.”

Also posted in News & Information | Comments closed